Field guide · 7 buyers · 5 buyer types

Who should buy your house?

No single cash buyer is best for every seller. iBuyers such as Opendoor and Offerpad suit newer homes in their markets and charge a service fee. Franchises such as HomeVestors buy homes that need work. Marketplaces collect investor bids. Direct buyers such as Propcash make one offer with no fees. A listing agent usually gets the highest price.

Updated Propcash Editorial Team 24 sources, linked
Compared here
  • Opendoor
  • Offerpad
  • HomeVestors
  • Sundae
  • Clever Offers
  • HomeLight Simple Sale
  • Propcash
01

The comparison

Pick what matters most to you. The rows that fit stay lit.

Cash home buyers compared on fees, closing time, offer deadline, service area, and who buys the house
Buyer Type Fees to you Time to close Offer deadline Where Who signs as buyer
Buys the house itself
Offerpad iBuyer24 5% service fee + about 1% closing costs6 8–60 days; minimum set by state7 Usually 7 days7 9 states8 Offerpad6
Opendoor iBuyer24 Service charge varies; not published. Closing costs 1–3%.1 21–60 days2 Varies by market3 Lower 48 states4 Opendoor1
Propcash (us) Direct buyer None. No commissions or closing costs.21 From 7 days21 Does not expire21 All 50 states21 Propcash22
Local franchise
HomeVestors Franchise No fees; pays typical closing costs. Offers "typically discounted below market value."9 From about 3 weeks9 Not stated 47 states + DC9 Local franchise owner; may assign to an investor10
Marketplace: collects bids from other buyers
Sundae Marketplace No fees to Sundae; its commission comes out of the offer12 10–60 days12 Not stated 12 metros in 7 states13 Investors who bid14
Clever Offers Marketplace Free to compare; "no added fees"15 From 7 days17 Not stated 46 states + DC17 iBuyers, funds, and local buyers16
HomeLight Simple Sale Marketplace No HomeLight fees; "individual investor fees may vary"19 From 7–10 days18 Not stated "Nationwide"; not all areas20 Partner investors19
Open market
Listing agent Traditional sale Commission, commonly 5–6%, plus about 2–3% closing costs23 Usually 30–60 days23 Set by each buyer Everywhere A retail buyer, often with a mortgage

"Not stated" means we could not find the fact on the company's own pages on Oct 16, 2026. It does not mean the answer is bad. Ask the company directly.

02

Time to close, as each company states it

Most cash buyers can close in 1–3 weeks. A faded bar means the company gives a minimum but no maximum.

Sources: Propcash21, Clever Offers16, HomeLight18, Offerpad6, Sundae12, Opendoor2, HomeVestors9, listing23. Offerpad's minimum is in business days and changes by state7. HomeLight's own page says both 7 and 10 days18.

03

Who actually buys your house?

This is the question most comparison lists skip. The name on the website is not always the name on the contract.

Direct buyer · iBuyer

One buyer, start to finish

  1. You
  2. The company makes the offer
  3. The same company signs as buyer

Propcash22, Opendoor1, and Offerpad6 work this way.

Franchise

A local office, sometimes a second buyer

  1. You
  2. Local franchise owner makes the offer
  3. May assign the contract to an investor

HomeVestors' investor FAQ mentions assignment fees10. Each office is independently owned9.

Marketplace

A platform, then a third party

  1. You
  2. Platform collects bids
  3. An outside investor or fund signs as buyer

Sundae14, Clever Offers16, and HomeLight Simple Sale19 work this way.

No model is wrong. More bids can mean a higher number. One buyer can mean fewer handoffs. Before you sign, ask one question: "Whose name will be on the purchase contract?"

04

Who should choose what

Each type is best for a different seller. These are our labels, based on the data above.

  1. iBuyer

    Best for newer, move-in-ready homes in their markets

    Opendoor, Offerpad

    Why
    A known brand and a clear process, with an advisor or agent assigned to you.27
    Watch for
    Service fees, and limits on older homes and major damage. Offerpad usually does not buy homes built before 1950.7 Opendoor excludes some pre-1930 homes.5
  2. Franchise

    Best for houses that need work, with a local office nearby

    HomeVestors (We Buy Ugly Houses)

    Why
    Buys many property types, including some mobile homes, and pays typical closing costs.9
    Watch for
    Each office is independently owned, so service can vary. Ask whether your contract may be assigned.910
  3. Marketplace

    Best for sellers who want several bids at once

    Sundae, Clever Offers, HomeLight Simple Sale

    Why
    Several buyers compete for one house.1416
    Watch for
    The platform does not buy the house, and investor fees can vary.19 Sundae serves 12 metros.13
  4. Direct buyer

    Best for sellers who want one offer, no fees, and no deadline

    Propcash (us), and local investors in your area

    Why
    Any condition, no fees or closing costs, and an offer that does not expire. You work with a local Acquisition Manager for your region.21
    Watch for
    One offer is one number. Compare it with at least one other option. Propcash is new: founded in 2026.22
  5. Traditional sale

    Best for the highest price, when the home is in good shape and you can wait

    A licensed listing agent

    Why
    The open market usually pays the most for a home in good condition.23
    Watch for
    Commission, closing costs, repairs, showings, and deals that fall through.23 If this is your best path, we will tell you so.
05

Vet any cash buyer in 10 questions

Use this list with every buyer, including us. Tick each one as you get a clear answer.

0 of 10 answered
06

Questions sellers ask next

What is the best company that buys houses for cash?

No single company is best for every seller. iBuyers such as Opendoor and Offerpad suit newer homes in their markets and charge a service fee. Franchises such as HomeVestors buy homes that need work. Marketplaces collect investor bids. Direct buyers such as Propcash make one offer with no fees. A listing agent usually gets the highest price when the home is in good shape and you can wait.

What is the difference between an iBuyer and a direct cash buyer?

Both buy the house themselves. iBuyers usually buy newer, move-in-ready homes in set markets and charge a service fee. Offerpad states a 5% service fee plus about 1% in closing costs.6 Direct buyers such as Propcash buy homes in any condition and charge no fees, commissions, or closing costs.21

Do cash offer marketplaces buy my house?

Usually not. Clever Offers, Sundae, and HomeLight Simple Sale pass your house to outside investors, iBuyers, or funds that bid on it.141619 The platform runs the process, but a third party signs as the buyer.

How long do cash offers last?

It depends on the buyer. Offerpad says its offers usually expire 7 days after the offer date.7 Opendoor says the deadline depends on the market.3 Propcash offers do not expire.21

Is Propcash a large company?

No. Propcash was founded in 2026 in Nashville, Tennessee.22 We are newer and smaller than the national companies on this page. We buy houses in all 50 states, and you work with a local Acquisition Manager for your region.

Get one more number to compare.

Ask for a Propcash offer with the others. It costs nothing, and it does not expire. If listing with an agent is better for you, we will tell you so.

Get My Cash Offer Free · No obligation